Chances

I have a friend who has this thing for going all in. Yesterday they were ridiculed for being too obvious while talking to someone. Needless to say the people’s laughter was met by my friend’s embarrassment. It was all too familiar, time and time again I’ve seen people being jeered at for not hiding their feelings well enough.

I do think there is a fine line between enthusiasty and plain desperation. Is being apparent (subconsciously or otherwise) really such a bad thing? ¬†Regardless of the end result, isn’t taking a chance going through hell in itself?

“Are you happy in your own shoes?”, my friend asked me later that day. I didn’t know what to reply so I just stared. They smiled and said, “I am.”

I think trying too hard isn’t too bad. And apples are just lovely. No?

Leave a Reply

